Travelling Companions

by Antoni Jach

$35

A handsome young man from Staten Island, who believes that life forms exist in other galaxies, vows to never work in an office again and travels by container ship to a commune in Italy. A lonely postal worker from Lodz takes home and reads the most interesting love letters, often becoming convinced a relationship needs his intervention, before delivering them the next day. A woman named Pauline calls herself Kim because her surname is Nowak. Depressed about turning forty, she mysteriously disappears from her own birthday party. Told by people on a journey, these are stories - rich with unexpected wisdoms - of lives in transit.
 
Travelling Companions is charming, amusing and philosophical - a wholly original exploration of what it means to honour our strangest dreams and disappointments. It is both a confrontation with, and a sweet diversion from, these, the darkest of times.
 
"In the tradition of Boccaccio and Chaucer, Jach is an extraordinarily inventive fabulist for late capitalism, seducing his reader into an ever-expansive web of captivating and often hilarious stories from likely - and unlikely - travelling companions." - Marion May Campbell, author of Shadow Thief and Konkretion
 
"Travelling Companions is a hybrid travelogue of Europe and the strangeness of the human spirit. It reminds us that storytelling is different from 'fiction' - it catches us in a different pulse and breath as we open ourselves to even the most far-fetched and ironic pleasures of the tale. It leads our tourists further than mere travelling: these stories transport them, with folly, irony, humour and endless pleasure." - Philip Salom, author of The Returns and The Fifth Season

Format: Paperback
Page Count: 408 Pages
Imprint: Transit Lounge Publishing
Published: Sept 21
ISBN: 9781925760804

Recently viewed