The Wolf and the Woodsman

by Ava Reid

$24

A dark, evocative fantasy debut steeped in Hungarian folklore, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik, Katherine Arden and Laini Taylor.

Stories don't have to be true to be real...

When the Woodsmen come to claim a sacrifice, Évike has little fear that she will be chosen. As the only girl in her isolated pagan village unable to heal, forge or summon fire, her lack of magic keeps her safe.

But when the villagers surrender her to the soldiers, Évike is thrust into a hostile world that has abandoned her gods. Determined to protect her people despite their betrayal, she strikes a reluctant bargain with her captor, the disgraced prince Gáspár Bárány. In exchange for the pagans' safety and her freedom, she will help him seek out a powerful creature of myth and win back his father's favor.

Their journey takes them from the Far North, where the terrifying magic of the old gods run wild, to the political mire of the capital, where the growing power of a vengeful cleric threatens to destroy them both. As their fates grow ever more entangled, Évike and Gáspár must learn to trust each other - or neither of them will survive.

A dark, spellbinding literary fairy tale inspired by Hungarian folklore, The Wolf and the Woodsman is perfect for readers of Katherine Arden, Naomi Novik and Erin Morgenstern.

 

Format: Paperback
Page Count: 448 pages
Imprint: Del Rey
Published: March 2022
ISBN: 9781529100754

Recently viewed