The Paris Bookseller

by Kerri Maher

$35

A SWEEPING STORY OF LOVE, FRIENDSHIP AND BETRAYAL IN BOHEMIAN 1920S PARIS

INSPIRED BY THE WOMAN WHO FOUNDED SHAKESPEARE AND COMPANY

'A vivid evocation of the famous female-owned Parisian bookshop... Kerri Maher writes a love letter to books, bookstores and booklovers everywhere' Kate Quinn, author of The Alice Network

'I was completely enthralled' Natasha Lester, author of The Paris Secret

The captivating story of a trailblazing young woman who fought against incredible odds to bring one of the most important books of the twentieth century to the world. For readers of The Paris Library and The Paris Wife.

 PARIS, 1919.

Young, bookish Sylvia Beach knows there is no greater city in the world than Paris. But when she opens an English-language bookshop on the bohemian Left Bank, Sylvia can't yet know she is making history.

Many leading writers of the day, from Ernest Hemingway to Gertrude Stein, consider Shakespeare and Company a second home. Here some of the most profound literary friendships blossom - and none more so than between James Joyce and Sylvia herself.

When Joyce's controversial novel Ulysses is banned, Sylvia determines to publish it through Shakespeare and Company. But the success and notoriety of publishing the most infamous book of the century comes at deep personal cost as Sylvia risks ruin, reputation and her heart in the name of the life-changing power of books...

Format: Paperback
Page Count: 336 Pages
Imprint: Headline Publishing Group
Published: Jan 2021
ISBN: 9781398702554

Recently viewed