Sunny

by Sukh Ojla

$35

'If you've ever felt lonely, overlooked, unappreciated and just "wrong" this is the book for you . . . Very funny, blisteringly honest' Marian Keyes

'I was laughing from the very first page. Sunny is a big, bright novel that radiates energy and warmth just like the title. Sukh is such a fun and exciting new voice in fiction. Give a copy of this book to all your pals!' Emma Gannon

'Bracingly honest, funny and sharp . . . it took me back to reading Bridget Jones's Diary. Fast, irreverent, but relatable' Adele Parks, Platinum

This actually is a love story, just not the one Sunny was looking for . . .

Sunny is the queen of living a double life. To her friends, she's the entertaining, eternally upbeat, single one, always on hand to share hilarious and horrifying date stories. But while they're all settling down with long-term partners and mortgages, Sunny is back in her childhood bedroom at thirty, playing the role of the perfect daughter. She spends her time watching the Sikh channel, making saag and samosey with her mum, hiding gins-in-a-tin in her underwear drawer and sneaking home in the middle of the night after dates, trying but failing to find 'the one'.

She juggles both lives perfectly . . . on the outside, at least. But when her mum sees a guy dropping Sunny home one evening, Sunny's life gets a little complicated. Now her mum wants to know about the life she's hidden from her for so long.

Sunny is well versed in lying to her friends, her family, and, above all, herself. But how long can she keep it up for? Or is it finally time to start being honest?

SUNNY by Sukh Ojla is a relatable, moving, and life-affirming novel. It is warm and full of honesty, exploring family, love and mental health. Perfect for fans of Grown Ups by Marian Keyes and Olive by Emma Gannon.

Format: Paperback
Page Count: 352 Pages
Imprint: Hodder Studio
Published: March 2022
ISBN: 9781529357004

Recently viewed