Sugar

by Bernice L. McFadden

$24

An unforgettable story of friendship and forgiveness in a small town in the American South, SUGAR is a classic of commercial fiction waiting to be rediscovered

'Poignant and bittersweet, this novel is a joy' Richard & Judy

Perfect for fans of The Vanishing Half and Where the Crawdads Sing, Sugar is a classic waiting to be rediscovered.
Young and confident, with a swagger in her step, Sugar arrives in the southern town of Bigelow hoping to start over. Soon Bigelow is alight with gossip and suspicion, and Sugar fears her past is catching up with her. Then she meets Pearl, a woman trying to forget her own traumas. As these next-door neighbours become unlikely friends, they wonder if their lives could finally be changing for the better. But small towns have long memories...

'A page-turning novel guaranteed to be looked back on as a timeless classic'
INDEPENDENT

'This book is so engaging and beautiful and intriguing and satisfying that I could not put it down'
ELLE

'Riveting... Searing and expertly imagined'
TONI MORRISON on Bernice L. McFadden

Format: Paperback
Page Count: 304 Pages
Imprint: Vintage Clasics
Published: Nov 2021
ISBN: 9781784877316

Recently viewed