Reptile Memoirs

by Silje O. Ulstein

$37

A brilliantly twisty and unusual literary thriller for fans of Gillian Flynn, Jo Nesbo, Kate Atkinson and Tana French, which asks the question: Can you ever really shed your skin?

Liv has a lot of secrets. Late one night, in the aftermath of a party in the apartment she shares with two friends in Alesund, she sees a python on a TV nature show and becomes obsessed with the idea of buying a snake as a pet. Soon Nero, a baby Burmese python, becomes the apartment's fourth roommate. As Liv bonds with Nero, she is struck by a desire that surprises her with its intensity. Finally she is safe.

Thirteen years later, in the nearby town of Kristiansund, Mariam Lind goes on a shopping trip with her eleven-year-old daughter, Iben. Following an argument Mariam storms off, expecting her young daughter to make her own way home . . . but she never does. Detective Roe Olsvik, new to the Kristiansund police department, is assigned to the case of Iben's disappearance. As he interrogates Mariam, he instantly suspects her - but there is much more to this case and these characters than their outer appearances would suggest.

A biting and constantly shifting tale of family secrets, rebirth and the legacy of trauma, Reptile Memoirs is a brilliant exploration of the cold-bloodedness of humanity.

'Original, sharp, tender and chilling, Reptile Memoirs is hugely ambitious and hypnotically readable.' - Chris Whitaker, author of We Begin At The End
Format: Paperback
Page Count: 336 Pages
Imprint: Grove Press
Published: March 2022
ISBN: 9781611854404

Recently viewed