Checkout 19

by Claire-Louise Bennett

$35

A thrilling, furious and stunningly original debut novel about womanhood, art and life, from the award-winning author of Pond, for fans of Eimear McBride, Ali Smith and Deborah Levy

*A 'BOOKS OF 2021' PICK IN THE GUARDIAN, DAILY MAIL, DAILY TELEGRAPH, IRISH TIMES CULTURE AND NEW STATESMAN*

'We read in order to come to life.'
With fierce imagination, a woman revisits the moments that shape her life; from crushes on teachers to navigating relationships in a fast-paced world; from overhearing her grandmothers' peculiar stories to nurturing her own personal freedom and a boundless love of literature.

Fusing fantasy with lived experience, Checkout 19 is a vivid and mesmerising journey through the small traumas and triumphs that define us - as readers, as writers, as human beings.

Format: Paperback
Page Count: 224 Pages
Imprint: Jonathan Cape
Published: Aug 2021
ISBN: 9781787333550

Recently viewed